Is there a private investigator license in Texas??
Texas Private Investigator Licensing Authority. Private Investigator licensing in Texas is handled by the Texas Department of Public Safety. The Private Security Program regulates the private security and private investigation industry under the authority of Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702 and the Private Security Board’s Administrative Rules.
How often do you have to renew a private investigator license??
Maintenance Required for PI License: You will also renew your license online through the Texas Online Private Security (TOPS) system. Renewal takes place every two years. Texas Private Investigator Salary Texas has one of the largest private investigator workforces in the country.
What are the requirements to become a police investigator in Texas??
You are required to complete 40 hours of Level III or Level IV training from a school approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Training courses cover multiple areas related to private investigation work, including first aid, crowd control, observing, weapons, disaster response, traffic direction and ethics.
How do I become a private investigator in Illinois??
The minimum education required by the Department of Public Safety is a 200-hour course on private investigation, but you may also become licensed with an associate’s or bachelor’s degree.